driving worldwide business excellence

 ISO/IEC 17799:2005
ISO/IEC 20000:2005

Register Online

ISO/IEC 20000 was the first international standard for IT Service Management. It was based on BS 15000 from the British Standards Institute (BSI).

ISO/IEC 20000-1 ('part 1') encourages development of an integrated process approach for managed services to meet the business and customer requirements of IT companies.

It is made up of ten sections:

  • Scope
  • Terms & Definitions
  • Planning and Implementing Service Management
  • Requirements for a Management System
  • Planning & Implementing New or Changed Services
  • Service Delivery Process
  • Relationship Processes
  • Control Processes
  • Resolution Processes
  • Release Process.

ISO 20000-2 ('part 2') constitutes a 'code of practice'. It explains the best practices for service management using ISO20000-1. It has the same ten sections as ISO/IEC 20000-1 except for 'Requirements for a Management system', because it imposes no requirements there.

ISO 20000:2005 is based on theories found in the Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL) Framework which was more commonly in use in the 1990s. It also reflects IT Service Management (ITSM) frameworks which emphasize the customer's perception of IT's contribution to the business.


Search for Training

Course Keyword:


Start Date:

/ /

End Date:

/ /


Quick Contact

Plantech-Omnex Partnership ppapandaudits Omnex Standards